Doing Magic

It’s odd that we only ever half believe what we’re seeing sometimes. Hindsight is 20-20, but in the now a lot is happening right under our own noses, moreover there’s a lot we’re making happen and completely unaware until we look back and see ourselves doing magic.

Sometime during my revelation experience, I was made aware that the completion of my journey toward enlightenment involved another. A destined mate. And I was given a name for this mysterious hero, supposedly to be meaningful in revealing his identity. “Billy the Kid”. It was made apparent to me that I had reached a certain point in terms of my soul evolution which I would pass only when I had met an united with this “Kid”. Well… I was young, I was on the brink of seeing my most treasured dream come true! I was eager to find this mate, right away!

The faithful in me started by believing there was no need to search, he was coming to find me and would arrive momentarily. The moment stretched somewhat… and by the end of weeks without the hint of a sign, I became… anxious. But ever to be a faithful one, trusting in my universe and believing my destiny, I figured it must be that I had yet to do something in the manner of knowing what to look for. I began consulting oracles for clues to the identity of this special person. One such Oracle, answering the question of where I could go in order to meet Billy, revealed an image of a city skyline that was in the immediate vicinity. I have recently discovered that the town just beyond that skyline has the same name as the place where I ultimately did meet him, nearby the place he has lived all his life, and the oldest building in the skyline bears his initials, however this was over a decade before we met and I certainly couldn’t have guessed his identity from any of those things at the time.

Some months later in an unrelated conversation with friends one of them revealed that he was involved in the construction of one of the buildings in the skyline and that he used to eat his lunch on the top of that building. I was immediately gobsmacked and thought this was it. I had never previously felt any kind of attraction towards this friend and we had been friends for some time. At one stage, he was driving me home from our mutual friends house every night and had always been 100% kind and gentlemanly toward me but I had never even given him a second look the whole time. Upon this revelation I did notice for the first time that I found him reasonably attractive, he was also quite intelligent, masculine and charming. Given that his qualities were substantial for my tastes and he had spontaneously announced himself connected to the Oracle prediction, I figured that I had met my match. I set about in pursuit of the target.

Over the following months, I made many misguided attempts at connecting with “Boots” on a deeper level. Nothing ever came of it. He didn’t like that I smoked cigarettes and spent more hours in contemplation than conversation. Though I’m certain there was a superficial attraction going both ways between us, it never amounted to anything. A year on, we had gone our separate ways and lost contact.

Still convinced that Boots was the person I needed to connect with to complete my enlightenment and frustrated by my failure to achieve a connection, I tried further consulting of Oracles and mystic methods, to secure the identity of the one, guided by my higher self. On one occasion I was prompted while passing a still wet newly poured patch of concrete path to write the name of my destined mate in the concrete. As I knelt down I thought to write Boots, by the time I’d reached out my hand I had decided to write Billy but when my hand touched the material I felt suddenly compelled to write another word, “Fish”,  and I followed it with a smiley face. The year was 1994, texting and digital messaging was of a, then, unknown and unimagined future, at the time a smiley face was quite a random and unusual thing to be signing off with in writing. Many years later, after actually meeting my true other half and completely without any prior recollection of this event, I was running along that path on the way to pay a nostalgic visit to my old home and as I passed the spot was spontaneously reminded that I once wrote something there. I located my mark in the concrete and was stunned to recall that this was the name of “Billy”, a word that he had, only a short time before, used to describe himself in a digital media message signed off with a smiley face! In 1994 I left myself a message, exactly where I could read it 20 years later, pointing me to examine and recognise the meaning of the profound meeting I had just had with my real Twin. And to think, in 1994, I had written it off as another failure, forgotten about it and moved on to another attempt to mystically divine the path to him.

Ultimately, nothing ever came of me and Boots. This is probably for the best as I now realise it was likely I simply manufactured feelings for him in the hope of obtaining my promised stepping stone to further enlightenment. I was obsessed with my ambition to ascend and, in hindsight, think perhaps I sought to use him rather than love him. I’m glad I never got the chance, as hard as I tried, and it took me years to finally give up.

My pursuit of Boots actually lead me to my husband, in no uncertain terms. I literally used an affirmation method to find him, though in my conscious mind undeniably I intended to find Boots. I affirmed that I would walk to my husband, and when I stopped walking, my husband would appear. This is the literal and absolute truth. I did this, and then set out walking. I walked an entire day and into the night. There was an afternoon storm. The rain was particularly heavy and deep mud puddles formed in the places I went to, and I kept walking, determined and faithful. I walked deliberately near places I expected I could happen across the path of Boots, but I did not see a sign of him even once. By late evening I was tired, wet cold and hungry and by chance noticed that I was near the home of a friend whom I knew would be happy to welcome me unannounced. I went to her house and knocked on the door.

My friend lived with two other people who I also knew. One I once went to school with and was my neighbour when I was 12. The other I knew to be gay and had recently heard on the grapevine that he had a new boyfriend. When I got there my friend welcomed me in and went to make a coffee. Sitting on the lounge, in a classy robe, was a handsome young man I had never met. The circumstances appeared to suggest that this was the new boyfriend I had heard about. I greeted him and went to drink coffee with my friend. After coffee, the guys offered me a lift home and I accepted gratefully. I accepted a hug (this was pretty standard in my group of friends) and a gift of cigarettes from the “new boyfriend”, on the way home, and thereafter didn’t see him again for several months.

One day, while meeting friends for lunch in the mall I happened to meet with this “new boyfriend” guy again. In my ear I heard a commanding voice which told me that in ten years, he would be the only person of that entire group of some 20 friends who would be in my life. My immediate thought, still believing he was unavailable to women romantically, was that we would be best friends and room mates or something like that. Compelled by a higher urge, I took his hand and held it. There was no prelude to this and he did not invite it in any way. I simply did it and he simply accepted it and we walked together hand in hand to the place where we became room mates for several months that very day.

You have probably guessed, the “new boyfriend” guy became my husband. Yes, I did eventually find out he wasn’t gay and we did finally marry. But only many years later, we didn’t even really strike up a relationship from this meeting.

It was at least a year later and shortly after I had moved to a place of particular spiritual significance for me and ended a short relationship with another boyfriend that again by fateful event I was brought together with my husband the ultimate time which bonded us for life.

We are always doing magic. Sometimes we do it consciously and are certain we’ve failed, but every time we think, we are creating our circumstances and every time we speak, we are making things happen. My path has been littered, no, carpeted with little pieces of magic that only reveal themselves when I can look back and properly perceive their meaning. And in the end it is consistently that I have found, my magic did work.

Leave a Reply

